Book Lists

Book list for teaching/modeling reading strategies:

Book list for teaching/modeling writing skills:



Scholastic Book Wizard: Use this website to find a reading and/or interest level of a book, or search for books by reading and interest level.
Screen Shot 2014-12-10 at 6.02.47 PM.png

Scholastic Book Lists: http://bookwizard.scholastic.com/tbw/viewBooklistExchangeHomepage.do
Book Page: http://www.bookpage.com/
Carol Hurst's Children's Literature Site: http://www.carolhurst.com/index.html
Book Bytes: http://marylaine.com/bookbyte/
School Library Journal: http://www.schoollibraryjournal.com/
Notable Children's Books in the English Language Arts: http://www.childrensliteratureassembly.org/index.htm
Notable Children's Books in the English Language Arts: http://www.childrensliteratureassembly.org/index_files/Page1039.htm
Parents' Choice Awards: www.parents-choice.org/allawards.cfm
Pacific Northwest Library Association's Young Reader's Choice Award: www.pnla.org/yrca
Arizona Grand Canyon Reader Award: www.grandcanyonreaderaward.org
Arkansas Charlie May Simon Children's Book Award: www.asl.lib.ar.us/childaward/charlie_may_main.htm
Arkansas Diamond Primary Book Award: www.asl.lib.ar.us/childaward/diamondmain.htm
Connecticut Nutmeg Children's Book Award: www.nutmegaward.org/About/index.htm
Delaware Blue Hen Book Award: www.wilmlib.org/bluhen.html
Florida Sunshine State Young Reader's Award: myssyra.org
Florida Association of Media in Education/Florida Teens Read Award: www.floridamedia.org/dislaycommon.cfm?an=12
Idaho National Outdoor Book Awards: www.isu.edu/outdoor/books/index.html
Illinois Monarch Award: www.isla.org/monarch.htm
Illinois Rebecca Caudill Young Readers' Book Award: www.rebeccacaudill.org
Indiana Eliot Rosewater Indiana High School Book Award (9-12): www.ilfonline.org/AIME/Rosie/EliotRosewaterProgram.htm
Indiana Young Hosier Book Award K-8: www.ilfonline.org/AIME/YHBA/YHBAPast.htm
Iowa High School Book Award: www.iasl-ia.org/ihsba.php
Iowa Teen Award: www.iasl-ia.org/tenn.php
Kansas Heartland Award for Excellence in Young Adult Literature: www.writingconference.com/heartlan.htm
Kentucky Bluegrass Award: kba.nku.edu
Louisiana Young Readers' Choice Award: www.state.lib.la.us/la_cyn+templ.cfm?doc_id=83
Maine Chickadee Award: www.chickadeeaward.org
Maine Student Book Award: www.mainelibraries.org/awards/msba.htm
Maryland Black-Eyed Susan Book Award: www.maslmd.org
Massachusetts Childrens Book Award: www.salemstate.edu/education/mcba
Michigan Great Lakes Great Books Award: www.michiganreading.org/greatbooks/index
Minnesota Maud Hart Lovelace Book Award: www.maudhartlovelace.org
Missouri Gateway Readers Awards: www.maslonline.org/awards/books/Gateway/index.php
Missouri Mark Twain Award: www.maslonline.org/awards/books/MarkTwain
Missouri Show Me Readers Award: www.maslonline.org/awards/books/ShowMe
Nebraska Golden Sower Award: www.goldensower.org
Nevada Young Readers' Award: www.nevadalibraries.org/divisions/NYRA
New Hampshire Great Stone Face Award: www.dover.lib.nh.us/Childrens'room/childrenpages/GSF.htm
New Hampshire Ladybug Picture Book Award: www.nh.gov/nhsl/bookcenter/programs/ladybug.html
New Jersey Garden State Children's Book Award: www.njla.org/honorsawards/book/childrens.html
New Mexico Land of Enchantment Award: www.loebookaward.com
New York Charlotte Award: www.nysreading.org/Awards/charlotte/index.html
North Carolina Children's Book Award: www.bookhive.org/nccba
Ohio Buckeye Children's Book Award: www.bcbookaward.info
Ohio Teen Buckeye Award: www.bcbookaward.info/teens
Oregon Beverly Cleary Children's Choice Award: www.oema.net/cleary/index/htm
Rhode Island Children's Book Award: www.ri.net/RIEMA/bookaward
South Carolina Association of School Librarians Book Award: www.scasl.net/bookawards
South Dakota Prairie Bud Award: www.sdlibraryassociation.org/home/awards.asp
South Dakota Prairie Pasque Award: www.sdlibraryassociation.org/home/awards.asp
South Dakota YARP Reading List: www.sdlibraryassociation.org/home/awards.asp
Tennessee Volunteer State Book Award: www.discoveret.org/tasl/vsba.html
Texas Bluebonnet Award: www.txla.org/groups/tba/index.html
Utah Children's Literature Association Beehive Awards: www.clau.org
Vermont Dorothy Canfield Fisher Children's Book Award: www.dcfaward.org
Vermont Red Clover Award: www.mothergooseprograms.org/lit_red_clover_nominees.php
Virginia Readers' Choice: www.vsra.org/VRCindex.html
Washington Sasquatch Reading Award: www.wlma.org/sasquatch
Washington Evergreen Young Adult Book Award: www.kcls.org/booksandreading/evergreenaward/index.cfm
Washington Children's Choice Picture Book Award: www.wlma.org/wccpba#nominations
West Virginia Children's Book Award: www.wvcba.org
Wisconsin Golden Archer Award: www.wemtaonline.org/se3bin/clientgenie.cgi
Wyoming Buckaroo Book Award: www.wyla.org/buckaroo
Wyoming Indian Paintbrush Book Award: www.ccpls.org/html/indianp.html
Wyoming Soaring Eagle Book Award: www.ccpls.org/html/soaringeagle.html
Jim Trelease's Read Aloud Book Lists: www.trelease-on-reading.com/default.html
Children's Picture Book Database: www.lib.muohio.edu/pictbks/search/